Haugan Cruises - Galapagos

Galapagos Luxury Cruises Redefined

Fragen und Antworten

Galapagos Reise FAQs

Hier finden Sie Antworten auf häufig gestellte Fragen zu den Kreuzfahrten auf den Galapagos Inseln. Es gibt zwei Bereiche:“Häufig gestellte Fragen” gefolgt von“Umfassende Antworten ”

Zum Zeitpunkt Ihrer Buchung werden wir Ihnen ein Informationspacket mit nützliche Informationen zu Ihrer Reise zusenden.

Wenn Sie keine Antworten auf Ihre Fragen gefunden haben zögern Sie nicht uns zu kontaktieren, wir werden Ihnen gerne behilflich sein. Kontaktieren Sie uns

Nützliche Links zu Fragen und Antworten

Häufige Fragen

Umfassende Antworten

Am häufigsten gestellte Fragen

Wann ist die beste Zeit Galapagos zu besuchen?

Die Galapagos-Inseln können das ganze Jahr über besucht werden. Die wärmste Zeit ist von Dezember bis Mai (27ºC bis 32ºC). Von Juni bis November variiert die Temperatur von 21ºC bis 26ºC. Es gibt immer eine erstaunliche Menge an Wildtieren zu sehen.

Return to top of page

Was sollte ich mitbringen?

  • Sonnenschutz
  • Sonnenbrille
  • Insektenschutz
  • einen kleinen Rucksack
  • Hut
  • Shorts
  • Lange Hosen
  • T-Shirts
  • Oberteile mit langen und kurzen Armen
  • Regenjacke
  • Badeanzug
  • Komfortable Wanderschuhe
  • Sneakers mit Gummisohle
  • Sandalen
  • Kamera und Fernglas
  • Extra Film, Speicherkarten
  • Ersatzbatterien
  • Medikamente
  • Versicherungsdokumente
  • Reisepass
  • Geld (US$ bar)
  • Kreditkarte (Visa, Mastercard)

Wir haben Neoprenanzüge (speziel für die Monate von Juni bis November) und Schnorchelausrüstung an Bord, um die perfekte Passform zu gewährleisten, bevorzugen es manche Gäste ihre eigene Ausrüstung mitzubringen. Die Verwendung der Schnorchelausrüstung ist kostenlos. Neoprenanzüge können ausgeliehen werden.

Return to top of page

Was ist im Preis enthalten?

Im Preis sind folgende Dinge enthalten:

  • Zweisprachige lokale Reiseleiter während der Kreuzfahrt
  • engagierter Kreuzfahrt Manager an Bord
  • Alle Mahlzeiten an Bord
  • Softdrinks und Säfte
  • Begrüβungscocktail
  • Schnorchelausrüstung
  • Kostenlose Nutzung aller Annehmlichkeiten an Bord (Laptops etc.)
  • Kostenloser Reise und Planungsservice für alle Ihre Interessen in der Region
  • Kostenloser Flughafen Assistent - Festland Ecuador (Quito & Guayaquil)
  • Kostenloser Flughafen Assistent - Galapagos-Inseln
  • Kostenloser Transfer zwischen dem Schiff und dem Flughafen
  • Kostenloser Notrufservice während Ihres Aufenthaltes in Ecuador 24 Stunden
  • Kostenloser Service für die internationale Flugbestätigung
  • Neoprenanzug
Return to top of page

Was ist nicht im Preis enthalten?

Sofern nicht ausdrücklich in den Promotionen genannt, enhält der Preis nicht:

  • Trinkgelder
  • Stornierung/Krankenversicherung
  • Softdrinks in Plastikflaschen
  • Eintrittsgebühr Galapagos National Park
  • Internationale Ausreise Steuer
  • Flugticket vom Festland Ecuadors
Return to top of page

Kann ich meine Galapagos Kreuzfahrt mit anderen Touren kombinieren?

Die meisten Besucher nutzen die Gelegenheit um ihre Galapagos Kreuzfahrt mit anderen Touren in der Region zu kombinieren. Als Teil unseres Service bieten wir Ihnen kostenlose Beratung und Planung an.

Dies kann ein Tagesausflug zu dem indigenen Otavalo Markt, eine extra Hotelübernachtung, ein Abenteuer in den tiefen des Amazonas - Dschungels oder eine Reise zu dem mystischen Machu Picchu sein.

Bitte beachten Sie den kostenlosen Reiseplanungs Abschnitt für weitere Details. Return to top of page

Umfassende Anworten auf die Fragen

Klimaanlage

Es gibt Klimaanlagen im gesamten Boot. Die Klimaanlage kann für jede Kabine individuell eingestellt werden.

Return to top of page

Flughafen Assistent

Ein Mitarbeiter von Haugan Cruises wird Sie am Flughafen, beim Checkin für den Flug nach Galapagos, unterstützen. Sobald Sie auf Galapagos ankommen, wird Sie am Flughafen ein Reiseführer und ein Mitglied der Crew begrüβen. Das Crewmitglied kümmert sich um Ihr Gepäck während der Reiseführer Sie zum Boot eskortiert, dort werden Kapitän und Manager Sie willkommen heiβen.

Return to top of page

Gepäck

Es gibt auf den Flügen von und nach Galapagos eine Freimenge von einem Gepäckstück mit einem Gewicht von 20kg sowie 2 kleinen Handgepäckstücken. Alle weiteren Gepäckstücke können in Ihrem Hotel auf dem Festland bleiben. Übergepäck wird mit US$ 2 pro Kilo berechnet, sofern sich die Fluggesellschaft dafür entscheidet.

Return to top of page

Carbon Offsetting

Emissionsausgleich ist die Absorption von Kohlendioxid, das den Hauptbeitrag zur globalen Erwärmung leistet. Es gibt viele Möglichkeiten des Emissionsausgleichs einschlieβlich das pflanzen von Bäumen. Wir kompensieren alle unsere Kohlenstoff-Emissionen duch Canopyco und ermutigen andere dasselbe zu tun.

Return to top of page

Klima

Die Galapagos Inseln: sind isoliert, somit ist das Klima fast vollständig von den Meeresströmungen abhängig, welche wiederum von den Passatwinden beeinflusst werden. In der Regel sind die Monate von Dezember bis Mai die wärmsten Monate mit Temperaturen von 26ºC bis 35ºC. Die Monate Juni bis November sind kühler mit Temperaturen von 20ºC bis 26ºC.

Festland Ecuador - Hochland: Die meiste Zeit des Jahres ist es Frühling. Mai bis November ist es trocken mit einer durchschnittlichen Temperatur von 20ºC. Dezember bis April ist es etwas kühler, aber immernoch sehr angenehm.

Festland Ecuador - Küste: Die durchschnittliche Temperatur beträgt 28ºC, mit einer heißen Regenzeit von Dezember bis Mai und einer Trockenzeit von Juni bis Dezember.

Festland Ecuador - Dschungel: Im Dschungel ist das Klima heiß 25ºC, feucht und regnerisch.

Return to top of page

Kommunikation / Telefon

Auf Galapagos gibt es eine Vielzahl von Telefon und Mobiltelefon Kommunikationen. In den wichtigsten Häfen auf Santa Cruz und San Cristobal gibt es viele Internet-Caf?s etc. um internationale Telefonate zu führen. Ihr Schiff wird einige Zeit in mindestens einem dieser Häfen verbringen, damit Sie diese Einrichtungen nutzen können, sofern Sie es wünschen.

Während der Fahrt steht das Telefon an Bord für Sie zur Verfügung aber es gibt nur ein Signal in der Nähe von besidelten Gebieten. In abgelegenen Gegenden hält das Boot Kontakt über Funk.

Return to top of page

Kleidung für die Kreuzfahrt

Der Dresscode an Bord ist familiär. Für die Inselbesuche bringen Sie bitte bequeme leichte Kleidung mit. Für die Abende bringen Sie bitte lange Hosen und eine leichte Jacke mit. Weitere Informationen finden Sie in dem Kapitel;Was sollte ich mitbringen?”.

Return to top of page

Zoll

Die Galapagos-Inseln verfügen über keine Zölle, aufgrund der fehlenden internationalen Flughäfen. Allerdings um die Insel zu schützen ist es nicht gestattet Gegestände wie Früchte, Blüten oder Samen einzuführen. Ihr Gepäck könnte geröntgt werden um diese Gegenstände zu finden.

Return to top of page

Erforderliche Dokumente

Nach ecuadorianischen Einreisebestimmungen muss jeder ausländische Passagier bei Einreise in besitz eines Reisepasses mit einer Gültigkeit von mindestens 6 Monaten ab dem Tag der Einreise nach Ecuador sein. Die meisten Reisenden aus westeuropäischen und nordamerikanischen Ländern benötigen kein Visum um nach Ecuador zu gelangen. Wir weisen Sie jedoch daraufhin sich an die nächste Botschaft für die aktuellen Reisebestimmungen zu wenden.

Return to top of page

Dauer der Reise (empfohlen)

Die Mehrheit der Galapagos-Kreuzfahrten dauert 8 Tage. Normalerweise würden wir Ihnen die 8 Tage Kreuzfahrt empfehlen, so das Sie alles sehen können was Galapagos zu bieten hat. Allerdings wurden unsere 5 Tage Kreuzfahrten sorgfältig organisiert und beinhalten ausgezeichnete Sehenswürdigkeiten. Return to top of page

Elektrizität

Auf dem Katamaran und in der Regel in ganz Ecuador gibt es 110V AC.

Return to top of page

Eintrittsgebühr

Die Inseln sind Teil des ecuadorianischen Nationalparks. Es gibt eine Eintrittsgebühr in Höhe von US$ 100 für Erwachsene und $50 für Kinder unter 12 Jahren. Die Gebühr ist bei Ankunft auf Galapagos am Flughafen in bar zu entrichten. Kreditkarten und Reiseschecks werden nicht akzeptiert. Ihr Reiseführer wird Sie nachdem Sie die Gebühr bezahlt haben treffen und Sie zum Boot bringen.

Return to top of page

Flug nach / von Galapagos

Alle Galapagos Reisen beginnen mit einem Flug vom Festland Ecuadors (Quito oder Guayaquil) zu den Inseln. Der Flug von Guayaquil nach Galapagos dauert ungefähr 1,5 Stunden. Der Flug von Quito macht eine Zwischenlandung in Guayaquil und fligt dann zu den Inseln weiter. Die Reisezeit von Quito zu den Inseln beträgt ungefähr 2,5 Stunden. Ihr Reiseleiter wird Sie am Flughafen treffen und Sie direkt zum Boot bringen.

Return to top of page

Flugbestätigung

Es ist keine Voraussetzung Inlandsflüge zu bestätigen(dies umfasst Flüge von Quito/ Guayaquil nach & von den Galapagos Inseln). Bei internationalen Flügen bieten wir Ihnen einen kostenlosen Flugbestätigungsservice an.

Return to top of page

Essen

Wir erhalten immer sehr gute Kritiken über das Essen an Bord. Es gibt ein Abwechslungsreiches Menü an Bord, welches aus internationaler und lokaler Küche besteht. Entworfen um eine Vielzahl von Wünschen zu erfüllen einschließlich Vegetariern. Es gibt immer mindestens ein vegetarisches Gericht. Sollten Sie spezielle Wünsche haben kontaktieren Sie uns bitte im Voraus, damit wir die nötigen Vorbereitungen treffen können. Alle Mahlzeiten an Bord sind im Preis enthalten.

Return to top of page

Galapagos National Park & Marine Reservat

The Galapagos National Park umfasst 97% der Inseln. Darüber hinaus schützt das Galapagos Marine Reservat weitere 138,000km² des Meeres rund um die Insel.

Der Park hat den Auftrag das Ökosystem der Insel zu schützen und zu erhalten, sowie die biologische Vielfalt zum Nutzen der Menschheit, der lokalen Bevölkerung, Wissenschaft und Bildung zu verwalten.

Wir halten uns strikt an die Regel des Galapagos National Parks. All unsere Kreuzfahrtrouten werden jährlich vom National Park genehmigt. Alle Passagiere werden immer durch einen vollqualifizierten Galapagos National Park Führer begleitet.

Return to top of page

Gesundheit

Tagesausflüge zu den Inseln umfassen das tägliche Ein- und Aussteigen aus kleinen Booten wie den Pangas, dies erfordert einige körperliche Anstrengung und Balance. Tägliche Spaziergänge in der Natur können das Gehen auf unregelmäßigen Grund einschließlich Felsbroken bedeuten. Einweisungen vom Reiseführer werden vor dem Anlegen erteilt, damit Sie die Schwierigket besser einschätzen können.

Reisende sollten in einem guten gesundheitlichen und körperlichen Zustand sein um die Reise in vollen Zügen genießen zu können. Wenn ein Passagier unter einer Krankheit leidet die aus seiner Reiseerfahrung resultiert, sollte er vorher seinen Arzt konsultieren um sicherzustellen, das er in der Lage ist die Reise anzutreten. Darüber hinaus sollte uns der Passagier vor Antritt der Reise über seinen Zustand und den damit verbundenen medizinischen Bedarf informieren.

Return to top of page

Notruf

Wir haben einen kostenlosen 24 Stunden Notruf für Ihre gesamte Zeit in Ecuador.

Return to top of page

Versicherung

Wir empfehlen unseren Passagieren dringend eine Reiserücktrittsversicherung abzuschließen. Desweiteren empfehlen wir folgende Versicherungen: Lebensversicherung, Auslandskrankenversicherung, Gepäckversicherung.

Return to top of page

Internet

In den Häfen von Santa Cruz und San Cristobal gibt es viele Internetcaf?s. Ihr Schiff wird einige Zeit in mindestens einem dieser H?fen verbringen, damit Sie diese Einrichtungen nutzen k?nnen, sofern Sie es w?nschen. Keines unserer Boote bietet Onboard-Internet an.

Return to top of page

Inselbesuche

Der Katamaran wird an zwei Sehenswürdigkeiten pro Tag anlegen. Das Übersetzen erfolgt mit Pangas. An Land werden Sie über die makierten Wanderwege geführt und es wird Ihnen die Natur näher gebracht. Inselbesuche erfolgen in einem gemächlichen Tempo, damit Sie die Zeit haben die faszinierende Tierwelt und Landschaft zu genießen und zu fotografieren. Oft gibt es die Gelegenheit schwimmen oder schnorcheln zu gehen.

Return to top of page

Jacuzzi

Die Benutzung der Jacuzzis ist abhängig von den Schifffahrtsbedingungen und der Route. Bitte sprechen Sie mit dem Reiseleiter oder dem Manager.

Return to top of page

Sprache

All unsere Touren werden in Englisch durchgeführt. Unsere Reiseführer sprechen Englisch und Spanisch fließend und können Ihnen Erklärungen in anderen Sprachen anbieten. Wir können Touren und Führungen in den meisten Sprachen anbieten, bitte fragen Sie ihren Reiseveranstalter für weitere Informationen. Return to top of page

Anlegeart

Die Ufer der Inseln und der Zugang zu den Sehenswürdigkeiten können aus felsigen Flächen oder Stränden bestehen. Das Anlegen erfolgt trocken oder nass. Trockene Landungen werden einfach durchgeführt, an einer flachen felsigen Oberfläche wird der richtige Anlegeplatz gefunden oder manchmal dient ein echter Pier als Anlageplatz. Wenn ein Strand der einzige Zugang ist wird eine nasse Landung durchgeführt. Diese Art ist auch sehr einfach; sie müssen Ihre Schuhe und Socken entfernen, sich zur Vorderseite des Beibootes begeben und Ihre Beine sanft in das Wasser gleiten lassen. Sie werden nie weiter als bis zur Kniehöhe nass werden. Danach trocknen Sie sich ab und ziehen Ihre Schuhe wieder an. Von Zeit zu Zeit wird der Boden etwas rau werden, deswegen benötigen die nassen Landungen besondere Vorsicht. Bitte befolgen Sie bei jeder Landung die Anweisungen des verantwortlichen Personals.

Return to top of page

Geld

Die lokale Währung auf den Galapagos Inseln und in Ecuador ist der US-Dollar. Auf den Inseln sind die meisten gängigen Kreditkarten(Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Diners) akzeptiert außer in kleinen Geschäften.

Es gibt Niederlassungen der Banco del Pacifico auf den Inseln Santa Cruz und San Cristobal. Beide haben Geldautomaten die MasterCard, Visa und andere Karten verbunden mit dem Cirrus, Maestro, Banred und ATM System akzeptieren. Es is auch möglich Reiseschecks zu wechseln, aber das ist schwierig und es fallen Gebühren an.

 

An Bord der Camila & Ocean Spray, akzeptieren wir nur Bargeld US $, und Kreditkarten (Visa & MasterCard).

 

Wichtiger Hinweis: die meisten Geschäfte, Restaurants, Einzelpersonen, und auch Banken akzeptieren keine $100 Scheine; wir empfehlen Ihnen kleinere Scheine mit zunehmen.

Return to top of page

Seekrankheit / Reisekrankheit

Durch globale Standarts gelten die Meere um Galapagos als ruhig, trotzdem können die Passagiere von der Seekrankheit / Reisekrankheit betroffen sein. Die Ocean Spray und die Camila sind Katamarane und zwei der größten 16 Passagiere Schiffe bei den Inseln. Ihre Größe macht sie stabiler und reduziert die Chance eine Reisekrankheit zu bekommen. Wenn sie unter eine Reisekrankheit leiden versuchen Sie die Monate in denen die See am unruhigsten ist zu vermeiden(August und September) und planen Sie Ihren Urlaub für die Monate in denen die See am ruhigsten ist(Januar bis April). Aus Ihrer Apotheke und von anderen Lieferanten können Sie verschiedene Medikamente gegen Seekrankheit erhalten. Bitte kontaktieren Sie uns wenn Sie weitere Fragen zu diesem Thema haben.

Return to top of page

Shopping

An Bord verkaufen wir T-shirts, Baseballmützen, handgemachten ecuadorianischen Schmuck und andere Gegenstände. Desweiteren verfügen wir über einen kleinen Vorrat an Pflegeprodukten; Medikamente Haartrockner(ausleihbar), Batterien etc. Wenn wir in den Häfen anlegen besteht die Möglichkeit Läden zu durchstöbern Kunsthandwerk und Andenken zu kaufen.

Return to top of page

Rauchen

Das Rauchen ist innerhalb des Galapagos National Park und in geschlossenen Räumen des Schiffes nicht erlaubt. Das Rauchen ist auf dem Deck erlaubt, doch bitten wir darum auf die anderen Gäste Rücksicht zu nehmen.

Return to top of page

Schnorcheln & Neoprenanzüge

Schnorchelausrüstung und Neoprenanzüge sind das ganze Jahr über kostenlos verfügbar. Einige Gäste bevorzugen es ihre eigene Ausrüstung mitzubringen, da sie die perfekte Passform gewährleistet. Bitte teilen Sie uns vorher mit welche Größe Sie haben (XS, S,M,L, XL).

Return to top of page

Zeitzone

Die Galapagos Inseln sind, da sie ihre Uhren nicht auf Sommerzeit umstellen, MEZ -7 bzw. -8 Stunden entfernt.(weil sie sich in der Nähe vom Äquator befinden)

Return to top of page

Trinkgeld

In Galapagos ist es üblich ein Trinkgeld seperat für den Reisefürer und die Besatzung zu hinterlassen. Die Höhe des Trinkgeldes liegt alleine im Ermeßen des Passagieres.

Return to top of page

Transfer

Transfer zu den Galapagos- Inselns
Alle Transfers vom Flughafen zur Insel und zum Boot sind im Preis enthalten. Unser Reiseführer wird Sie am Flughafen empfangen und zum Boot bringen, dort werden Sie vom Kapitän und vom Manager begrüßt. Wir werden auch ein Besatzungsmitglied abstellen, welches sich persönlich um Ihr Gepäck kümmert.

Transfers in Quito oder Guayaquil.
Transfers zwischen dem Flughafen und Ihrem Hotel in Quito oder Guayaquil (und umgekehrt) können wir für Sie arrangieren. Wir haben Personal engagiert für den Transfer unserer Gäste zwischen dem Hotel und dem Flughafen. Fragen Sie einfach Ihren Manager.

Return to top of page

Wasser

An Bord verwenden wir die Umkehrosmose um frisches Wasser zu produzieren. Das Wasser aus den Wasserhähnen ist sicher, aber um 100% sicher zu gehen empfehlen wir unseren Gästen das kostenlose Mineralwasser zu trinken.

Return to top of page

Wasser Temperatur

Dezember bis Mai: 21ºC bis 26ºC

Juni bis November: 18ºC bis 24ºC

Return to top of page

Was ist nicht im Preis enthalten?

Sofern nicht ausdr?cklich in den Promotionen gennant, enh?lt der Preis nicht:

  • Trinkgelder
  • Stornierung/Krankenversicherung
  • Softdrinks in Plastikflaschen
  • US$ 100 Eintrittsgebühr Galapagos National Park*
  • US$ 10 Galapagos Eintrittskarte um die Bevölkerung auf der Insel zu kontrollieren*
  • Internationale Ausreise Steuer*
  • Flugticket vom Festland Ecuadors
  • Miete des Neoprenazuges

*Bitte beachten Sie das die Galapagos National Park Gebühr, Bevölkerungskontrollkarte und die internationale Ausreise Steuer in bar bezahlt werden müssen. Die internationale Ausreise Steuer beträgt US$ 27,15 wenn Sie Ecuador von Guayaquil aus verlassen. Die Steuer beträgt US$ 40,80 wenn Sie Ecuador von Quito aus verlassen. Diese Steuer gilt nicht für Inlandsflüge innerhalb Ecuadors; das heißt es gibt keine Steuer wenn Sie zwischen Quito / Guayaquil auf die Galapagos Inseln reisen.

Diese Steuer können ohne vorherige Ankündigung geändert werden.

Return to top of page
Wir hoffen Sie haben die Antworten auf Ihre Fragen gefunden. Wenn nicht bitte zögern Sie nicht uns zu kontaktieren, wir werden Ihnen gerne behilflich sein. Kontaktieren Sie uns

Haugan Cruises - Galapagos

Galapagos Luxury Cruises Redefined

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

Galapagos Travel FAQs

Please find below answers to frequently asked questions about cruises in the Galapagos Islands. There are two sections: “Most Common Questions” followed by “Comprehensive Answers to Questions.”

At time of booking we will also send you a pre-trip information pack with helpful reminders and information for your trip.

If you can not find answers to your questions please do not hesitate to contact us and we will gladly assist. Contact Us

Quick Links to Questions and Answers

Most Common Questions

Comprehensive Answers To Questions

MOST COMMON QUESTIONS

When is the best time to visit the Galapagos?

The Galapagos Islands can be visited during any time of the year. The warmest season is from December to May (80°Fs to low 90°Fs (27ºC to 32ºC)). From June to November temperatures vary from low 70°Fs to high 80°Fs (21ºC to 26ºC). There is always an amazing amount of wildlife to be seen.

Return to top of page

What should I bring?

  • Sunscreen
  • Sunglasses
  • Insect repellant
  • Small backpack
  • Hat (preferably with a brim)
  • Shorts
  • Long pants
  • T-shirts
  • Long and Short sleeved shirts
  • Wind breaker / light raincoat
  • Bathing suit
  • Comfortable walking shoes
  • Sneakers with rubber soles
  • Outdoor Sandals
  • Camera and binoculars
  • Extra film, memory cards, discs
  • Spare batteries
  • Any medicine you may be taking
  • Insurance documentation
  • Passport
  • Money (US$ cash)
  • Major Credit cards (Visa, Mastercard)

We have wetsuits (specially for months from June to November) and snorkeling equipment on board, though some guests sometimes prefer to bring their own to ensure the perfect fit. Use of snorkeling equipment is complimentary. Please read our comprehensive packing list article

Return to top of page

What IS included in the tour price?

Price includes ALL of the following:

  • Top quality bilingual local guide throughout the cruise
  • Dedicated onboard cruise manager
  • All meals on board
  • Soft drinks and juices
  • Welcome cocktail
  • Snorkeling equipment
  • Free use of all amenities on board (lap tops etc)
  • Free trip and planning service for all your needs in the region
  • Free airport assistance - Mainland Ecuador (Quito & Guayaquil)
  • Free airport assistance - Galapagos Islands
  • Free transfers between boat and airport
  • Free 24 hour helpline for personal assistance for your entire time in Ecuador
  • Free International flight confirmation service
  • Wetsuit
Return to top of page

What is NOT included in the tour price?

Unless specifically stated in promotions prices do not include:

  • Gratuities
  • Cancellation/medical insurance
  • Plastic bottled sodas
  • Galapagos National Park entrance fee
  • International Airport Departure tax
  • Airfare from mainland Ecuador
Return to top of page

Can I combine my Galapagos Cruise with other tours?

The majority of visitors take the opportunity to combine their Galapagos cruise with other tours in the region. As part of our service we provide FREE TRIP ADVICE & PLANNING.

This may be a day trip to the Indigenous Otavalo Market, an extra hotel night, an adventure into the depths of the Amazon jungle or a trip to the mystic Machu Picchu.

Please see the Free Trip Planning section for more details. Return to top of page

COMPREHENSIVE ANSWERS TO QUESTIONS

Air-conditioning

There is air-conditoning throughout the boat. Air-conditioning can be adjusted for each individual cabin.

Return to top of page

Airport Assistance

You will always have somebody from Haugan Cruises at the airport to assist you checking onto your flight to the islands. Once you arrive in the Galapagos, our guide and a member of the crew will greet you at the airport. The crew member will take care of your luggage and your guide will escort you to the boat where your captain and cruise manager will welcome you aboard.

Return to top of page

Baggage

There is a luggage allowance of one piece of 44lbs (20 kilos) plus 2 small carry-ons on flights to and from Galapagos. Any additional pieces can be left at your hotel desk on mainland. Excess baggage is charged at US$ 2 per kilo if the airline chooses to do so.

Return to top of page

Carbon Offsetting

Carbon offsetting is the absorption of carbon dioxide which is the main gas contributing to global warming. There are many ways to carbon offsetting including planting trees. We offset all our carbon emissions through Canopyco and encourage others to do the same.

Return to top of page

Climate

The Galapagos Islands: are isolated so the climate is determined almost entirely by the ocean currents, which in turn are influenced by trade winds that push the currents. In general, December to May are the warmest months with temperatures of 80ºF to 90ºF (26ºC to 35ºC). June to November is cooler 70ºF to 80ºF (20ºC to 26ºC).

Mainland Ecuador - Highlands: It is spring-like most of the year. May through November is dry with an average temperature of 70ºF (20ºC). December to April is slightly cooler though still very pleasant.

Mainland Ecuador - Coast: The average temperature is 83ºF (28ºC), with a hot, rainy season from December to May and a dry season from June to December.

Mainland Ecuador - Jungle: In the Jungle the climate is hot 77ºF (25ºC), humid and rainy.

Return to top of page

Communications / Telephone

There is full phone and cellular phone communication in the Galapagos. In the main ports on Santa Cruz and San Cristobal islands there are plenty of internet cafes etc to make international calls. Your itinerary will include some time in at least one of these ports to use these facilities if you wish.

When cruising the islands, the boat’s cell phone is available for your use however there is only a signal when sailing close to populated areas. In more remote areas the boat maintains communications using radio.

Return to top of page

Cruise attire

The dress code aboard is informal.For island visits bring comfortable lightweight clothing. For the evenings bring long pants and a wind-breaker / light jacket. See also “what to bring” section for a more complete list.

Return to top of page

Customs

The Galapagos Islands does not have customs since there are no international airports. However to prevent the introduction of new species to the islands you are not allowed to take items such as fruit, flowers and seeds. Your luggage may be x-rayed and inspected to detect these items.

Return to top of page

Documents Required

According to Ecuadorian Immigration regulations, every foreign passenger entering the Country must have a passport with a time validity of at least 6 months from the day of arrival to Ecuador. Most Western European and North American passport holders do not require a visa to enter Ecuador. However please contact your nearest Ecuadorian embassy for the latest visa requirements.

Return to top of page

Duration of Trip (recommended)

The majority of cruises in Galapagos are for 8 days. We would normally recommend the 8 day cruise so that you can include all the very best Galapagos has to offer. However, our 5 day itineraries have been carefully organized to include excellent visitor sites.

Return to top of page

Electricity

On the catamaran and generally throughout Ecuador 110V AC.

Return to top of page

Entrance Fee

The Islands are part of the Ecuadorian National Parks system. There is an entrance fee of US$ 100 for adults and $50 for children under 12. The fee is collected on arrival in the airport in the Galapagos Islands and is ONLY payable in cash. Credit card or travelers checks are not accepted. Your guide will meet you immediately after you have paid the fee and take you to the boat.

Return to top of page

Flights to / from Galapagos

All Galapagos tours start with a flight from mainland Ecuador (Quito or Guayaquil) to the Islands. The flight from Guayaquil to Galapagos takes approximately 1.5 hours. The flight from Quito stops at Guayaquil and then flies on to the Islands. The total travel time from Quito to the islands is approximately 2.5 hours. Your guide will meet you at the airport and take you directly to the boat.

Return to top of page

Flight confirmations

There is NOT a requirement to confirm domestic flights (this includes flights from Quito/ Guayaquil to & from the Galapagos Islands). For international flights we provide a free flight confirmation service.

Return to top of page

Food

We always receive great reviews about the food on board. There is a varied menu onboard, including international and local cuisines, designed to accommodate a variety of dietary needs including vegetarians. There is always a choice and at least one vegetarian option. If you have any special dietary needs please let us know in advance so that we can make the necessary arrangements. All meals on board are included in the cruise price.

Return to top of page

Galapagos National Park & Marine Reserve

The Galapagos National Park protects 97% of the Islands´ land mass. In addition, the Galapagos Marine Reserve protects a further 138,000 square km of sea surrounding the Islands.

The Park’s mission is to protect, conserve and manage the Islands ecosystems and its biological diversity for the benefit of humanity, local populations, science and education.

We strictly adhere to the rules of the Galapagos National Park. All our cruise itineraries are approved annually by the National Park. All our passengers are always accompanied by a fully qualified Galapagos National Park guide.

Return to top of page

Health

Daily trips to the islands involve getting in and out of small boats known as pangas, requiring some physical effort and balance. Daily nature walks may include walking on irregular ground including boulders. Briefings will be given by your guide in advance of the landings to better help you determine levels of difficulty.

Trip members should be in reasonably good health and physical condition to fully enjoy a cruise in the Galapagos Islands. If a passenger suffers from any medical condition that might impact their travel experience they should consult with their doctor before traveling to ensure that they are capable of undertaking the trip. In addition, passengers should advise us of their condition and associated medical needs prior to travel.

Return to top of page

Helpline

We have a FREE 24 hour helpline for personal assistance for your entire time in Ecuador.

Return to top of page

Insurance

We strongly recommend passengers to buy trip cancellation insurance. In addition, we also recommend the following insurances: life, international medicine, baggage loss and baggage delay, loss of personal belongings lost or stolen personal objects during the length of the trip.

Return to top of page

Internet

In the main ports on Santa Cruz and San Cristobal islands there are plenty of internet cafes. Your itinerary will include some time in at least one of these ports to use these facilities if you wish. None of the boats offer onboard internet service.

Return to top of page

Island Visits

The catamaran will anchor at two visitor sites each day. You will be ferried to the islands in "pangas" (local name for dinghies). Once ashore your guide will lead you along marked trails explaining the natural history as you walk. Island visits are done at a leisurely pace allowing plenty of time to enjoy and photograph the amazing wildlife and scenery. There is often an opportunity to swim and / or snorkel during these visits should you wish.

Return to top of page

Jacuzzi

Depending on the navigation conditions and based on our itinerary, please check with your Guide or Quality Control Manager for our Jaccuzi schedules.

Return to top of page

Language

All our tours are conducted in English. As a minimum our guides speak English and Spanish fluently and many can offer explanations in other languages. We can arrange tours and guides in most languages. Simply ask your trip advisor for further information.

Return to top of page

Landings

The shores of the islands, and the access to visitor sites, can have rocky surfaces or beaches. Landings may be dry or wet. Dry landings are easily performed, as you will find a flat rocky surface for proper docking with the outing boats or sometimes a real pier as a landing place. When a beach is the only way of accessing a visitor site, it is performed as a wet landing. These are also quite simple since you just remove your shoes and socks, proceed to the front of the dinghy (or panga), and while swinging your legs out, you gently slide off the side of the panga, and will not wet yourself any higher than knee level. Afterwards, dry your feet, put your shoes on, and you will be ready to go. From time to time you may find rougher swells than the usual ones, and so the wet landing requires extra caution. At any landing, please, follow the instructions of the staff in charge.

Return to top of page

Money, Debit & Credit Cards

The local currency in The Galapagos Islands and throughout Ecuador is US dollars. On the Islands, most major credit cards (Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Diners) are widely accepted except in smaller stores.

There are Banco del Pacifico branches on the islands of Santa Cruz and San Cristobal. Both have ATM machines that accept MasterCard, Visa and cards affiliated with the Cirrus, Maestro, Banred and ATM system. It is also possible to change travelers checks but this is more difficult and a there is a service charge.

On board the Cormorant & Ocean Spray, we only accept US $ cash, and credit cards (Visa & MasterCard).

Important note: Most shops, restaurants, individuals, and even some banks will not accept $100 bills, we recommend taking smaller denomination notes.

Return to top of page

Seasickness / Motion Sickness

By global standards the seas around Galapagos are considered to be calm however passengers can be affected by seasickness / motion sickness. The Ocean Spray and the Cormorant are Catamarans and two of the largest 16 passenger vessels operating in the islands making them more stable and thus reducing the chance of motion sickness. If you do suffer from motion sickness then you should try to avoid the months when the seas are generally the roughest (August and September) and plan your trip for the months when the seas are generally the calmest (January to April). There are also various sea sickness medications and aids readily available from pharmacist and other suppliers. Please contact us if you have any further questions on this topic.

Return to top of page

Shopping

On board we have available for sale T-shirts, baseball caps, handmade Ecuadorian jewelry and other items. We also maintain a small stock of toiletries, basic medications, hair dryers (for loan), batteries etc. When we are in Port there will be an opportunity to browse some of the shops to purchase local crafts and souvenirs.

Return to top of page

Smoking Policy

Smoking is not allowed within the Galapagos National Park or within enclosed areas of the boat. Smoking is permitted on deck though we ask our guests to be considerate of other passengers who may be within the vicinity.

Return to top of page

Snorkeling & Wetsuits

Snorkelling equipment and wetsuit is complimentary all year round. However, some guests sometimes prefer to bring their own to ensure the perfect fit. Please advise your size in advance (XS, S,M,L, XL).

Return to top of page

Time Zone

The Galapagos Islands are GMT -6 hours and do not change their clocks for Daylight Savings (because they are on the equator). This means that in the summer months they are the same time as Mountain Daylight Time but in the winter months they are the same time as Central Standard Time.

Return to top of page

Tipping / Gratuities

In Galapagos, it is customary to leave a gratuity for the guide and crew separately. Gratuities are at the sole discretion of the passengers and should be based on the level of service received.


If you wish to leave a tip you may give it directly to the relevant staff member. Alternatively, you can put cash in the envelopes marked "CREW" and "GUIDE" that will be left in your room on your last day.


Please put the envelopes in the gratuity box that will be left in the dining area on the day of your departure.


All the money in the "CREW" envelope will be shared equally among the crew members.


Here is a guideline based on past experience. If service was excellent, the average tip has been $22 per person per day for the entire ship's crew and $10 per person per day for the guide.


Please understand that this is just a suggestion: tipping/gratuities are a very personal matter and it entirely depends on the value of the service you received.

Return to top of page

Transfers

Transfers on the Galapagos Islands.
All transfers from the airport on the islands to the boat are included in your cruise. Our guide will greet you at the airport and escort you to the boat where your captain and cruise manager will welcome you aboard. We will also have a crew member to personally take care of all your baggage.

Transfers in Quito or Guayaquil.
Transfers between the airport and your hotel in Quito or Guayaquil (and vice versa) can be arranged for you. We have personnel dedicated to transferring our guests between the hotel and the airport. Simply ask your reservation executive.

Return to top of page

Water

On board we use reverse osmosis to produce fresh water. The water from the taps is perfectly safe to drink but to be 100% safe we recommend that our guests only drink the bottled water which is complimentary.

Return to top of page

Water Temperature

December to May: 70ºF to 80ºF (21ºC to 26ºC)

June to November: 65ºF to 75ºF (18ºC to 24ºC)

Return to top of page

What is NOT included in the tour price?

Unless specifically stated in promotions prices do not include:

  • Gratuities
  • Cancellation/medical insurance
  • Plastic bottled sodas
  • US$ 100 Galapagos National Park entrance fee*
  • US$ 10 Galapagos entrance card for control of population in the islands*
  • International Airport Departure tax *
  • Airfare from mainland Ecuador

* Please note that the Galapagos National Park fee, population control card and the International Airport Departure tax are ONLY payable in cash. The international departure tax is US$ 27.15 if you are leaving Ecuador from Guayaquil. The tax is US$ 40.80 if you are leaving Ecuador from Quito. This tax does not apply for domestic flights within Ecuador - i.e. there is no tax payable when you are traveling between Quito / Guayaquil to the Galapagos Islands.

These taxes are subject to change without previous notice.

Return to top of page
We hope that you found the answer to your question but if you couldn’t, don't worry. If you did not get the answers to your questions please do not hesitate to contact us and we will gladly assist. Contact Us